Music to write by?

For a long time, I used CDs of sound playing in the background when I wrote. I had six or eight of them featuring babbling brooks, surf, rain, thunderstorms, etc. They have long since passed on to that great thrift store in the sky.

I decided to give another tack a shot. I purchased movie sound tracks to download. My criteria for choosing them was: good music (to me at least), and from a movie with a strong theme of human perseverance. One is fiction while the other three represent real life.

Here they are: “Quigley Down Under” (Tom Selleck in Australia), “The Longest Day” (John Wayne et. al.), “The Great Escape” (Steve McQueen and a host of others during WW II) and “Monuments Men” (George Clooney, John Goodman and others).

Here’s a plug for that last one. I don’t know why it took me so long to get around to viewing “Monuments Men” because it covered the story of recovered art during WW II and was touted as a good movie. — but I did and only watched it recently. If you have not seen it, give yourself a treat. Bits are fictionalize to cover the story in the alloted time; recovering 5 million objects d’art. It is heart warming and heart wrenching at the same time. If you come away with dry eyes, maybe you need to watch it a second time …

A personal note about “Monuments Men.” I was struck by Clooney’s character. Not that he looks that much like my father, but with the hair color and the mustache, there was a striking resemblance to my WW II era dad who was going on forty when he was called to serve.

Is the music working for me? Only recently started writing with it as background, but this blog was completed with Quigley going in the background. Seems okay for now.

So, keep your muse close and keep writing.

Will Rogers said, “Always drink upstream from the herd.”

John

web: johnachor.comfacebook.com/jachor1LinkedIn.com― Twitter: @CaseyFremont

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

