Authors – prepare for your book signings

During preparation for a book signing, Chris Crawley from That Bookstore in Blytheville (TBIB) sent me links to one of the best sites for information about book signings.

The Courier News of Blytheville refers to this store as legendary. Why such a title? Long time owner (since 1973), Mary Gay Shipley supported John Grisham in his early days. Because of the support, Grisham has a soft spot for TBIB and it is one of a few, or maybe the only venue where he will sign books.

Mary Gay Shipley sold TBIB to Grant Hill in early 2013. The new management includes Chris Crawley and Yolanda Harrison. I am working closely with Crawley.

Back to the original premise. The title of the piece is: “40+ Ways to Make Your Next Book Signing an EVENT!!” and comes in four parts. It is written by Larry James. Some of the 40 ways may fall into the “oh, I knew that.” Even from that category, when was the last time I remembered to do it? Not lately. If you have a book signing coming up, do yourself a favor and visit this link:

http://www.authorsandspeakersnetwork.com/booksigningtips.html

Why did I pick TBIB? While I don’t count myself in the same class as Grisham, perhaps some of his good fortune and writing abilities will rub off on me. I do have one thing in common with John Grisham, I’ve sold a book out of the trunk of my car.

If by chance you’re are in the neighborhood, drop by That Bookstore in Blytheville at 1 p.m. on Saturday, December 13, 2014.

Enjoy writing and enjoy signing your books.

John

web: johnachor.comfacebook.com/jachor1LinkedIn.com― Twitter: @CaseyFremont

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

