T1red of p@sswords? Y0u @reN*t @lone!

Quick personal note before I get to business. My Casey Fremont mystery novel is now available on Amazon as a paperback. Go to amazon.com and search on: john achor

I have a problem resolving the time missing since my last blog. It was a year-plus of weird odds and ends. Just don’t ask me, “how are you?” Because neither us has that much time to waste on getting caught up.

Suffice it to say, I am doing my best to come out of hibernation and get back to all my old pursuits; readin’, writin’, ‘rithmatic and all that jazz.

Long memory: I can remember the day I had only a couple of passwords and could keep them in my head. Ah, days long gone. Today I have somewhere north of 150, and I defy anyone to remember that many. Unless you use “password” for all of them. ― a dumb thing to do ― I need help. The title above is an article headline from a local paper that gave me a chuckle.

My suggestion: use a password software program to track and protect them. I’m using RoboForm (roboform.com). There are free versions on the market, however I prefer what I hope is a more robust program in their payware version ($9.95/year). I also use online sites to create passwords. Here are the links to two of them; both free:

http://freepasswordgenerator.com/    and      http://strongpasswordgenerator.com/

This is a password generated by one of them: e296hu.<Ci37

Using 12 letters, numbers, upper/lower case and symbols ― remember the longer the password, the more protection. I then log the password into RoboForm.

            I used Gibson Research Corp. site (https://www.grc.com/haystack.htm) to check the strength of that password, and here are the results: 1.74 centuries – chop the last four from the password (leaving it 8 characters long) and the time to crack drops to about 5 seconds. Wow!

            123456 and abcdef are not strong passwords. Do yourself a favor and create strong passwords to protect your computer and the work you slaved to create.

From Will Rogers: Never kick a cow chip on a hot day. 

John

web: johnachor.comfacebook.com/jachor1LinkedIn.com― Twitter: @CaseyFremont

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

